Faculty/Staff Directory

Matthew L Hipps, MPA

Matthew L Hipps, MPA

Associate Professor of Political Science; Chair, Committee for Student Transitions

Sequoya Hall
Room 131
650 College Dr. Dalton, GA 30720

Office Hours

Fall 2017 Semester

M: 11:00 AM-3:00 PM 
T: 8:30 AM- 9:15 AM 
W: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM 
By Appointment 



  • Masters of Public Administration, West Virginia University 2008
  • PhD (ABD) in Political Science 2107 (Area of Specialization- American Political Institutions & Public Administration) 


Hipps moved to Dalton, GA from Morgantown West Virginia in 2010. He studied Political Science at West Virginia Wesleyan College, earned his Masters of Public Administration and a Masters in Political Science from West Virginia University and is currently ABD in Political Science (with concentrations in Race & Politics, Public Administration and American Political Institutions) from West Virginia University. Hipps currently serves as an Associate Professor of Political Science and the Director of the Center for Student Transitions at Dalton State College. Due to a passion for helping students to become the most successful version of themselves, Hipps spends most of his academic time helping to establish curriculum that helps students to achieve their full academic and personal potential. Hipps teaches courses in American Government, Constitutional Law, State & Local Government and several special topics courses related to political behavior and social issues. Hipps is an American Association of State Colleges & University National Global Scholar and National Economic Inequality Scholar. In his free time, Hipps spends time with his wife Katie, his two sons Garrett (5) and Benjamin (3) and their dog and 2 cats. 

Course Name/Overview

Course Name Course Overview
POLS 1101- American Government
POLS 2201- State & Local Government
POLS 3100- Constitutional Law: Civil Rights & Civil Liberties


I was selected to be a National Global Scholar in 2014 by the American Association for State Colleges & Universities. In addition, I was selected as a National Economic Inequality Scholar by the American Association for State Colleges and Universities in 2015.