Dalton State Honors Students’ Academic Achievements


Dalton State’s top students were recently honored at the College’s 41st Annual Honors Convocation. A total of 57 awards were presented for academic achievement during the year. Fourteen students were also honored for their academic achievements in the dual-enrollment program.

State Sen. Charlie Bethel presented the Georgia General Assembly Academic Recognition Award to Ellie Bradford. The Georgia legislature recognizes one student from each college and university in the University System of Georgia for overall academic achievement.

Dr. Larry Johnson, dean of the School of Business, presented the following awards:

  • Angel Langley, Outstanding Student in Accounting
  • Adam Hornby, Outstanding Student in Finance and Applied Economics
  • Levi Nix, Outstanding Student in Management
  • Aleah Russell, Outstanding Student in Management Information Systems
  • Kenneth Noel Goggans, Outstanding Student in Marketing
  • Chasity J. Ashby, Outstanding Student in Technology Management
  • Kenli Babb, Outstanding Student in the School of Business
  • Angela M. Melendez, Georgia Society of CPAs Award for Academic Excellence

Dr. Sharon Hixon, dean of the School of Education, presented the following awards:

  • Mandy L. Owens, Academic Excellence – ESOL Education and Early Childhood Education
  • Angel N. Bell, Academic Excellence - Mathematics Education, Leadership Award
  • Rigo Gonzalez, Academic Excellence - Reading/Language Arts Education
  • Sarah K. Douglas, Academic Excellence - Science Education
  • Monica M. Kafka, Academic Excellence - Social Studies Education
  • Santiago J. Nava, Academic Excellence - Technology Integration
  • Kasey S. Wilbanks, Academic Excellence- Secondary Education
  • Liana G. Barrera, Multicultural Award
  • Nancy E. Johnson, Exemplar of the Program - Early Childhood Education
  • Amber K. Loveless, Exemplar of the Program - Secondary Education

Dr. Gina Kertulis-Tartar, dean of the School of Health Professions, presented the following awards:

  • Eddie Stevens, G.L. Westcott Nursing Award
  • LaKisha Vaughn Bates, Licensed Practical Nursing – Clinical Excellence
  • Stephanie L. White, Licensed Practical Nursing – Academic Excellence
  • Cynthia Hidalgo, Highest Academic Average – Associate of Science in Nursing   
  • Tiffany A. Barnes, Highest Academic Average – Bachelor of Science in Nursing
  • Kristina Bralee Keith, Excellence in Radiologic Technology             
  • Lenea R. Broyles, Excellence in Radiologic Technology       
  • Nathan Alexander Brown, Respiratory Therapy - Academic Excellence
  • Douglas Cody Tincher, Respiratory Therapy - Academic Excellence
  • Julia Guerrero, Social Work - Outstanding Academic Performance – Junior
  • April Keener, Social Work - Outstanding Academic Performance – Junior
  • Christina Anne Ellinghausen, Social Work – Outstanding Academic Performance – Senior
  • Leslie K. Rogers, Outstanding Academic Performance – Senior and Excellence in Social Work Field Education
  • Danielle Kay Lyons, Leadership Award
  • Cory Steven Lowe, Shining Star Award

Dr. Mary Nielsen, dean of the School of Liberal Arts, presented the following awards:

  • Marlen Hernandez Garcia, Academic Excellence - Karen Davis Communication Award
  • Brooklyn Hope Herrera, Academic Excellence - Rob Narke Communication Award
  • Constance Kelly Spinetta, Academic Excellence - Jane Parks Composition Award
  • Bradley Madaris, Academic Excellence – Beth Biron Humanities Award
  • John Michael Walters, Academic Excellence - Sara Myers Literature Award
  • Malorie Elizabeth Noles, Academic Excellence - American History
  • Michael Taylor Poe, Academic Excellence - Criminal Justice          
  • Sky Michelle House, Academic Excellence - French
  • Jacob Thomas Hickman, Academic Excellence - Geography
  • Jordan Seth Wilson, Academic Excellence - Music
  • Shawn D. Payne, Academic Excellence - Political Science
  • Kelsey Mikayla Flowers, Academic Excellence - Psychology
  • Joanna Cross, Academic Excellence - Sociology
  • Kellsea Searra Jenkins, Academic Excellence – Spanish
  • Gregory Chase Starkey, Academic Excellence - Theatre
  • Jeffrey Duane Brooks, Academic Excellence - World History           
  • Charmagne Arnold Wallace, Distinguished Student in Digital Design
  • Justin Neil Ammons, Creative Service in Digital Design

Dr. Randall Griffus, dean of the School of Science, Technology, and Mathematics presented the following awards:

  • Makenzie Vandiver, Bill Jump Biology Award
  • Cassiopeia Cartwright, Arvine Phelps Calculus Award
  • Casey Dover, Bob Cooper Chemistry Award
  • Mikayla Garrett, Human Anatomy and Physiology
  • Harrison Watts, Arvine Phelps Mathematics Award
  • Micah Goulart, David Wycherley Physics Award
  • Corley Stalans, Excellence in Computer Networking/Service Technology

Dr. Andy Meyer, interim vice president for Academic Affairs, recognized the following Dual Enrollment Honorees:

  • Breonna Brown, Senior, Gordon Central
  • Johnathon Bryant, Senior, Gordon Central
  • McKenna Dean, Senior, Heritage
  • Skyler Faul, Senior, Heritage
  • Madison Gowin, Senior, Northwest Whitfield
  • Whitney Gribble, Senior, Murray County
  • Anna Nimmons, Junior, Dalton High
  • Uriel Paniagua, Senior, Dalton High
  • Jenna Patterson, Junior, Fannin County
  • Alanna Strawser, Senior, Dalton High
  • Tanner Thomas, Junior, Dalton High
  • Katerina Townsend, Junior, Trion High
  • Olincatl Valdez, Senior, Dalton High
  • Erin Grace Walden, Senior, Heritage