National Leadership Honor Society Chartered


Dalton State recently chartered a chapter of national leadership honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa, with 62 members.

“ODK has a long-standing history of being an excellent leadership, honor society,” said Dr. Jami Hall, Dean of Students and advisor to the organization. “ODK provides distinction to students who exceed both inside and outside of the classroom, making it a perfect fit for our campus because we truly believe in developing the student holistically during their tenure at Dalton State College.”

The organization’s mission is to identify, honor, and develop leaders while encouraging collaboration.

“We are pleased to welcome Dalton State into our society,” said Matthew Clifford, ODK’s national president. “Students will now be recognized for their leadership involvement and be eligible to participate in the society’s national programs, including scholarships, campus grants, and leadership development programs.”

Students who were initiated as charter members were: Caroline Askew, Carmen Balbino, Brianna Cheyenne Bilbrey, Tina Calabretta, Andrew Carpenter, Mikayla Cass, Fernando Cedano, Brianna B. Cheever, Cassidy Alexis Clark, Katherine R. Clifford, Daniel P. Davenport, Katie Elizabeth Dees, Stevie Dyar, Caitlin Nicole Edwards, Alexandria Elliott, Carolina Amaya Gomez, Micah Chase Goulart, Caroline Griffin, John Daniel Noah James Griggs, Clarissa J. Hamrick, Grace Hardin, Cody Hayes, Madison Skye Hobbs, Zoe B. Holcomb, Autumn Danielle Hooton, Kalea Ingram, Kellsea Jenkins, Sara M. Jenkins, Haley Johnson, Johnny W. Kelley, Jordan Jason Man, Debra Renee Mathis, Hayley Nicole McKinney, Mason Daniel Morehouse, Hajeen Mustafa, Laura Beth Nalley, Felicia Amber Nepp, Meghan Marie O'Toole, Kevin M. Phillips, Molly Loraine Prince, Crystal J. Ramsey, Stephanie Michelle Reagan, Deshawn Hezekiah Trivel Ruffin, Veronica Ruiz, Maria Daniela Sanchez, Elizabeth Silverio, Dillon Sisk, Christopher D. Smith, Yamileks Vaca, Charles H. Wade III, Erin Grace Walden, Cameron Williams, Rachel Williams, Caroline M. Wilson, Jonathan Logan Wright, and Chelsea Nicole Young.

In addition to Hall, five other members of faculty and staff were also initiated as charter members: Dr. Patricia Chute, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs; Dr. Garen Evans, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Jodi Johnson, vice president for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management; Tammy Rice, director of field education for the Social Work program; and Heather Williams, assistant director for leadership and civic engagement.

ODK was founded at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va. on Dec. 3, 1914. A group of 15 students and faculty members established the Society to recognize and encourage leadership at the collegiate level. ODK promotes ideals of scholarship, service, integrity, character, and fellowship on college and university campuses throughout North America.