Then and Now: Faculty and Staff Recreate Original Photo


When Dalton State opened in the fall of 1967, the charter faculty and staff gathered for a photo to commemorate the occasion outside the upper level of the Pope Student Center.

The photo is a reminder of the College’s beginnings. There were only 54 faculty and staff members when the College opened its doors on Sept. 25, 1967. Today there are 456. Many of the current faculty and staff posed for a photo by the upper level of Pope to show how the faculty and staff has grown in the last 50 years.

Pictured in the photo taken in 1967 of the original faculty, front row from left are: Edna Stripling, Jane Secord, Nancy Powell, Betty Perry, Betty Gallant, Donna Bentley, Theresa Krebs, Eileen Fitzgerald, Ruth Miller, Anna Elkins, and Margaret Hunnicutt; second row from left are: Bob Brown, E.G. Bain Johnson, Terry Christie, Dr. Clyde Bushnell, Melvyn Ottinger, Harris Mynatt, Joey Mayson, Ben Tate, Mickey Sutton, Harlan Chapman, and Bill Brooks; third row from left are Tommy Roy, Arthur Little, Emory Grant, Michael Moorhead, Arvine Phelps, Dr. Ed Mobley, Dr. Ben Wygal, David Clements, Dr. Bob Cline, Joel Braswell, and Dr. Arthur Gignilliat.

Not pictured but part of the charter faculty and staff were Ellen Cobia, Martha Dennard, Polly DeVaughn, Beth Langley, Caroline Lorberbaum, Gwen Mooney, and Pam Redwine.