Charter Faculty Pose for Photo


It has been 50 years since charter members of the Dalton Junior College faculty and staff stood on the steps of the Pope Student Center to commemorate the opening of the College.

Monday night six of those original faculty and staff members came back together on those same steps to commemorate the College’s 50th year during a celebration of that anniversary.

Pictured in the photo taken this year, front row from left are: Eileen Fitzgerald Harris, Beth Langley Burdick, and Ellen Cobia Neal; back row from left are: Harlan Chapman, Benjamin Wygal, and Melvyn Ottinger.

Pictured in the photo taken in 1967 of the original faculty, front row from left are: Edna Stripling, Jane Secord, Nancy Powell, Betty Perry, Betty Gallant, Donna Bentley, Theresa Krebs, Eileen Fitzgerald, Ruth Miller, Anna Elkins, and Margaret Hunnicutt; second row from left are: Bob Brown, E.G. Bain Johnson, Terry Christie, Dr. Clyde Bushnell, Melvyn Ottinger, Harris Mynatt, Joey Mayson, Ben Tate, Mickey Sutton, Harlan Chapman, and Bill Brooks; third row from left are Tommy Roy, Arthur Little, Emory Grant, Michael Moorhead, Arvine Phelps, Dr. Ed Mobley, Dr. Ben Wygal, David Clements, Dr. Bob Cline, Joel Braswell, and Dr. Arthur Gignilliat.

Not pictured in the archival photo but part of the charter faculty and staff were Ellen Cobia, Martha Dennard, Polly DeVaughn, Beth Langley, Caroline Lorberbaum, Gwen Mooney, and Pam Redwine.