CETL Overview

Mission Statement

The mission of the Committee on Academic Excellence is to facilitate, support, and enhance the teaching and learning process at Dalton State College. The Center serves to ultimately improve student success and achievement of learning outcomes by promoting the creation of effective learning environments through the provision of resources and faculty development opportunities.

Vision Statement

We believe that despite different disciplines, research agendas, and departmental or administrative concerns, the practice of teaching unites us. Even as we pursue scholarship, teaching remains at the heart of our professional lives and ultimately defines the mission of Dalton State College. Recognizing the central importance of teaching requires that we, both individually and collectively, need to continually develop this part of our professional lives. As colleagues and members of the college community we are committed to supporting one another's efforts to develop innovative and effective teaching and learning strategies. We seek to support all faculty in sharing best practices, implementing methods which enhance student achievement of learning outcomes, and in pursuing the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Leadership Team

Marina Smitherman, Assistant Professor of Biology
Coordinator of Committee on Academic Excellence

Raina Rutti, Associate Professor of Management
6th Annual Conference Chair

Barbara Tucker, Interim Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs; Associate Professor of Communication & CAE Special Fellow in Communications

Jenny Crisp, Assistant Professor of English/ QEP Director

Matt Hipps, Director of First Year Experience & Assistant Professor of Political Science  

Christy Price, Professor of Psychology, Fellow for Course Redesign  

Elizabeth Lucht, Assistant Professor of Biology  

John Asplund, Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Jerry Drye, Associate Professor of Communication

Lovey Mesco, Assistant Professor of Education

Roben Taylor, Assistant Professor or Education

Karren Bennett, Associate Professor in Nursing  

Sarah Min, Lecturer in Communication