Contents

Dalton State Faculty Senate 2
Minutes of April 13, 2023 2
Call to Order2
Approval of Minutes 2
Committee Reports
New Business
Library:
Announcements
Campus security concerns
Next Meeting:
Adjournment:5
Appendix 1: Attendance



Dalton State Faculty Senate

Minutes of April 13, 2023

Attendees: Please see Appendix 1 for the list of attendees.

Call to Order

Senate President Hussein Mohamed called the meeting to order at 3:15. Parliamentarian Tom Gonzalez stated that a quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

Hussein asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the March 9 meeting. The motion was made and seconded. There being no discussion, the motion carried.

Committee Reports

Academic Conduct: Nothing to report

Academic Programs: Nothing to report

Assessment: Ali Akdeniz reported that the committee had met to finalize reviews for twenty programs. The committee provided feedback for each program; they expect to finish the process by May 5.

Faculty Development: Nothing to report

Faculty Evaluation: Omin Chandler reported that the committee had met and revised the forms used in the evaluation process; they are in the portal under Academic Affairs. The new evaluation manual will be uploaded, and workshops will be conducted in collaboration with CETL.

Faculty Resource: Jennifer Randall reported that the committee has been working with Melissa Whitesell at Roberts Library; they will be presenting items for a vote later in the meeting.

Strategic Plan Monitoring: Nothing to report

Promotion and Tenure: Nothing to report

New Business

Library: Jennifer Randall discussed the Library's new poster printing service. Posters take 24 hours to complete; payment can be by cash, check, or credit/debit. Hussein asked about the available poster sizes and types of paper; Melissa Whitesell said that posters are printed on heavy bond paper, with a maximum size of 24 x 36 inches.

Motion: Nancy Mason moved to approve the Library's policies for printing and laminating. The motion was seconded and discussed.

The motion to approve the Library's policies for printing and laminating carried.

Hussein stated that a second motion was needed to approve the pricing and payment methods for these services.

Motion: Carl Gabrini moved to approve the Library's pricing and payment policies for printing. The motion was seconded and discussed.

The motion to approve the Library's pricing and payment policies carried.

Announcements

Campus security concerns

Hussein stated that there are some concerns about campus security and communications during emergencies. Currently, most classrooms and labs have no telephones. Office phones run through Teams; they would be inoperable in the event of a power outage. Cell phone reception is unreliable inside the buildings. Hussein described an incident in which the power went out and he had difficulty contacting Public Safety. What would happen in a real emergency? Moreover, in the event of a shooter on campus, it is not possible to lock most classrooms and labs from the inside.

Jackie Boals thanked Hussein for starting this discussion; she said that the matter could be taken up by the Faculty Welfare Committee in the fall.

Michael Masters, Chief of Public Safety, said that while he couldn't comment on the phone system, the college does use the Roadrunner Alert system to notify everyone in case of emergencies. There is also a public address system with speakers throughout the campus; the system is tested monthly. Peeples Hall has emergency phones on each hallway. He said that Public Safety offers active shooter training for anyone interested; attendance is usually low at these sessions. The College follows USG guidelines on locking doors; unlike the public school system, most colleges and universities don't routinely lock classroom doors.

Nancy Mason said that she was concerned about students and others with disabilities; it would be difficult for them to evacuate the buildings in case of fire or other emergency. Chief Masters said that evacuation chairs are provided in each building.

Alex Whaley asked whether an active shooter could plan around our existing protocols. Chief Masters said that standard protocols are widely available on the internet. Michael Joseph said that the active shooter training is scheduled at inconvenient times. Elicia Walker of Public Safety said that the training has been offered at multiple times. Public Safety can schedule a training session on request.

Andrea Roberson of Disability Access stated that CARE team referrals are the best way to prevent incidents; they can head off a potential crisis situation.

Melissa Whitesell said that at one time, buildings were equipped with panic buttons to notify Public Safety. She said that the public address system currently can't be used within the buildings; the system could also be used to make general announcements.

4

Motion: Kent Harrelson moved to refer the matter to the Faculty Welfare Committee, in cooperation with Public Safety, OCIS, and the CARE team. The motion was seconded; there was no discussion.

The motion to refer the question of campus safety protocols and communication during emergencies to the Faculty Welfare Committee, in cooperation with Public Safety, OCIS, and the CARE team, carried.

Next Meeting: Hussein stated that the next meeting would be on September 14.

Motion: Michael Joseph moved to change the Senate meeting time from 3:15 to 3:30 because of the new schedule. The motion was seconded and discussed.

The motion to move Senate meetings from 3:15 to 3:30 carried.

The next Senate meeting is scheduled for 3:15 on September 14, 2023.

Adjournment: There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 4:18.

Appendix 1: Attendance

Senators	Guests
Ali Akdeniz	Manal Abdelsamie
Jacqueline Boals	Kileen Berry
Susan Burran	Heather Brumlow
Omin Chandler	Tammy Byron
Cecile de Rocher	Elizabeth Chadwick
Chuck Fink	Jamie Connors
Carl Gabrini	Cindy Davis
Thomas Gonzalez, Parliamentarian	Mike D'itri
Kent Harrelson, Secretary	Sarita Gale
Timothy Hawkins	Marilyn Helms
Brian Hibbs	Kim Horne
Bruno Hicks, Provost	Katherine Hyatt
Matthew Hipps	Jodi Johnson
Calley Hornbuckle	Jeff Marshall
Leah Howell	Michael Masters
Elizabeth Hubbs	Brynn Munro
Natalie Johnson	Lee Ann Nimmons
Michael Joseph	Lisa Peden
Clint Kinkead	Tammy Rice
Jon Littlefield	Andrea Roberson
Nancy Mason	Amanda Smith
Lori McCarty	Caleb Watkins
Annabelle McKie-Voerste	Alex Whaley
Holly Miller	Melissa Whitesell
Hussein Mohamed, Senate President	
Jennifer Parker	
Jennifer Randall, President-Elect	
Deborah Richardson	
Jeff Stanley	
Laura Tolliver, Webmaster	
Lirong Yu	
Xinghai Zhao	