DALTON STATE COLLEGE OVERVIEW

Dalton State College is a unit of the University System of Georgia, which is comprised of four Research Universities, four Comprehensive Universities, nine State Universities, and nine State Colleges. All of these public institutions are collectively governed by a nineteen-member Board of Regents, each serving a seven-year term following appointment by the Governor and ratification by the Georgia Senate. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The Board oversees the public colleges and universities that comprise the University System of Georgia and has oversight of the Georgia Archives and the Georgia Public Library System.

Operating and construction funds are allocated to each unit of the System by the Board of Regents which receives an annual appropriation from the Georgia General Assembly. Student matriculation fees, set by the Board, fund approximately thirty percent of an institution's instructional budget.

Dalton State College opened in the fall of 1967 with an enrollment of 524 students. In the fall semester of 2019, the College registered 4,964 credit students. Over the years, the profile of the College's academic program and its student body has changed dramatically. Over 80% of students in the first class were between the ages of 16 and 20; recently, the traditional college-age group, now defined as between 18 to 24 years old, is about 91% of the enrollment. In 1967, Dalton State College offered only one career program, serving 4% of the student body; the College now offers nearly 600 courses in professional and vocational fields and 23 baccalaureate programs. As of 2019, Dalton State College has also been federally designated a Hispanic Serving Institution, with 31% Hispanic/Latino enrollment.

As of fall 2019, the majority of Dalton State College students live in a five-county area: Whitfield (45%); Murray (11%); Catoosa (11%); Gordon (9%) and Walker (7%). The remaining seventeen percent are from other counties in Georgia, the United States, and around the world. In the fall of 2019, our students represented 42 countries.

In 1967, facilities on the 141-acre campus of Dalton State College consisted of portions of the present Sequoya Hall, Westcott Building, Student Center, and Maintenance Building. There are now a total of ten buildings. Most recently, the Pope Student Center underwent a renovation, the new Mashburn Hall residential building opened in 2016, and the Memorial Hall and Sequoya Hall buildings were renovated in 2019 and 2020. The College also offers courses at an extended-campus center in Gilmer County.

Dalton State College is one of many institutions in the University System of Georgia, approved to offer the Regents' Engineering Pathway Program (REPP), formerly the Regents' Engineering Transfer Program (RETP). This program allows Georgia residents interested in engineering careers to complete the first two years of the engineering degree college close to home. Upon satisfactory completion of the pre-engineering curriculum and additional course requirements, students may transfer to one of the five REPP institutions: Georgia Southern University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Kennesaw State University, Mercer University, or University of Georgia, to complete the remaining course and degree requirements. This program is an excellent fit for families of students who are interested in saving money on tuition or simply staying close to home for the first few years of college.

Dalton State College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award bachelor and associate degrees. The College is a unit of the University System of Georgia and is an Affirmative Action Program Institution committed to the concept and reality of cultural diversity.