Faculty Senate


Dalton State College's Faculty Senate is the representative body responsible for coordinating faculty participation in College planning and governance. In this capacity, the Senate makes recommendations, which the College President has the right to accept or reject, in the areas of academic programming, creation of new courses, faculty evaluation processes, tenure and promotions.

Senators are selected in the spring term. Members serve three-year terms, with one representative chosen for every five full-time faculty in a department, plus a representative from the College library and a member-at-large from each school. The Senate meets on the second Thursday of each month.

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee is made up of the President, President-Elect, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and Webmaster. For the 2020-2021 academic year, these positions are filled by Christian Griggs (cagriggs@daltonstate.edu), Jon Gulledge (jgulledge@daltonstate.edu), Alicia Briganti (abriganti@daltonstate.edu), Travis McKie-Voerste (tmckie@daltonstate.edu), and Amy Burger (aburger1@daltonstate.edu), respectively.