About - Faculty Senate - Dalton State College

Dalton State College

Page Content Utility Links Main Links Footer Links Local Links Back to Full Site


Faculty Senate

Pictured from left: Parliamentarian Dr. Kent Harrelson, Associate Professor of English; President-elect Dr. Robert Culp, Assistant Professor of Economics, President Dr. Vince Postell, Professor of Mathematics and Learning Support Coordinator; and Secretary Ms. Lisa Hunt, LPN Instructor


A Faculty Senate has replaced the College’s Faculty Advisory Assembly and is now the representative body responsible for coordinating faculty participation in College planning and governance. In this capacity, the Senate will make recommendations, which the College President has the right to accept or reject, in the areas of academic programming, creation of new courses, faculty evaluation processes, tenure and promotions.

“My first goal for the Faculty Senate is to make it a functional and responsive voice for the faculty of Dalton State College,” said Dr. Vince Postell. “I am certainly learning, and I feel that others in the Senate are learning as well. I hope that the faculty will feel comfortable bringing concerns to
the senate and will feel that those concerns will be addressed.”

Faculty members voted to approve formation of the Senate at the faculty meeting at the end of the spring term and the current membership was elected this fall. In the future, senators will be selected in the spring term. Members will serve three-year terms, with one representative chosen for every five full-time faculty in a department, plus a representative from the College library and a member-at-large from each school. The Senate will meet on the second Wednesday of each month.