This website uses cookies.

This website uses cookies. For more information, review our Privacy Policy. Questions? Please email [email protected].

Congratulations 2024 Leadership Awards recipients

Posted on

Each year Dalton State’s Dean of Students office hosts its annual Student Leadership and Awards Banquet to recognize and honor Dalton State’s most distinguished student leaders, student groups, faculty and staff who contribute to the quality of student life on Dalton State’s campus. The event is sponsored by the Dalton State Foundation.

Award descriptions Nomination videoEvent Photos

This year’s guest speakers were Brigadier General Theodore R. Scott, III, commanding general for the 78th Troop Command in the Georgia Army National Guard, and Jackie Killings, president of Khensani Business Advisors. In addition to the 11 awards distributed each year, Dalton State President John Fuchko, III, surprised attendees with a new award – Army Challenge Coins presented by Scott.

Awards and Recipients

Army Challenge Coins

Presented by BG Scott (guest speaker) and Dr. Fuchko

  • Jackie Killings
  • Heather Williams
  • Micah Manley

Emerging Leaders Institute Certification:

  • Blanca Banuelos  
  • Bibianna Canchola 
  • Obadiah Anderson 
  • Nikhil Rudolph 
  • Kaitlin Garner 
  • Emmanuel Ramirez 
  • Courtney Yancey 
  • Austin Reeves 

Facilitators in Training Certification:

  • Obadiah Anderson 
  • Kaitlin Garner 
  • Erik Ashogbon  Emmanuel Ramirez 
  • Courtney Yancey 

African American Male Initiative Participants:

  • Roderick Cobb
  • Erik Ashogbon
  • Obadiah Anderson
  • Murph Adams
  • Mercoe Smith, Jr.

Advisor of the Year

  • Hayley Cooper

Volunteer of the Year

  • Amber Sturges

Truett Lomax Unsung Hero Award

  • Dr. James Adams
  • Madison Reyes

Melvyn Ottinger Roadrunner Pride Award

  • Bryan Calderon

Jason Ramos Servant Leadership Award

The Ramos family presented award recipients with a $1,000 scholarship ($500 each) for their dedication and commitment to creating positive change in the Northwest, GA, Community. 

  • Destiny Stokes
  • Kaylee Sheldon

Emerging Leaders Award

  • Autumn Christian  
  • Fredy Berganza 
  • Molly Evans 
  • Reshma Kunjum 

Outstanding Student Leaders Award

  • Cameron West 
  • Alex Smith 
  • Jesus Lopez 
  • Brenda Oladejo  
  • Sydney Hermann 
  • Anthony Cruz 

Spence Higgins Hall of Leaders Award

  • Alex Whaley
  • Jerron Phifer
  • Darren Otts
  • Parker Adams
  • Kevin Jones

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • National Day of Prayer, hosted by the Student Government Association, Baptist Collegiate Ministry, and Muslim Student Association.

Program of Distinction

  • Black Culture Museum, hosted by the Black Student Union.

Registered Student Organization of the Year

  • Alpha Omicron Pi

Explore more posts

Stay up-to-date, Roadrunner Nation

Read the latest news, stories and events happening at Dalton State.
Jun 13, 2024

Dalton State awards honorary doctorates to Shaws

Dalton State College, on behalf of the University System of Georgia Board of Regents, awarded Honorary Doctor of Business Administration degrees to Robert E. “Bob” Shaw and Dorothy “Dottie” S. Boring Shaw during the college’s spring 2024 commencement exercises on May 14.  “The Shaws’ enduring friendship to Dalton State College and our students across six […]

Read More
Jun 04, 2024

Dalton State adds to teacher workforce with 61% increase in education graduates

Dalton State College awarded degrees to 437 students at its spring 2024 commencement ceremonies on May 14. At a time when teachers are in high-demand, the college saw a 61% year-over-year increase in graduates with education degrees, including associate and bachelor’s degrees, and it graduated its largest-ever spring-term cohort with a Bachelor of Arts in […]

Read More
May 28, 2024

Roadrunners collect second NAIA Men's Golf National Championship

The Dalton State Men’s Golf Team claimed the 2024 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championship at Dalton Golf and Country Club in Dalton on Friday. Following a two-hour weather delay, the Roadrunners won by one-stroke over #4 Texas Wesleyan. Stats: Dalton State +26 (295-298-297-292) 1182 T4. Jack Whaley (Dalton State) +2 (71-73-74-73) 291T17. Jarod Edwards (Dalton […]

Read More